A Review – Writer’s Doubt

images

I think I can.

I hope I can.

What was I thinking?

What we tell ourselves matters.

I still remember sitting in our brand new LeCar as my instructor, none other than my husband, attempted to teach me how to drive. And wouldn’t you know it, it was a stick shift.

Once again the hill won as I killed the car.

“You’re not going to get this,” he said to me.

“Just watch me,” I responded.

That was on a good day. A couple days later I believed him and I just about gave up.

Then I had a brilliant idea. Why not let my friend Cindy teach me.

With every successful use of the clutch I heard, “Good job. I knew you could do it.”

And that made all the difference in the world. There is another licensed driver out there because of it. One who didn’t learn till she was in her 30’s.

Another challenge – writing

While driving was one challenge, I would have others, like writing.

I won a writing contest when I was young. And as I kept writing I experienced success. I have my poetry in stores, I published Bible Studies, articles, devotions. Then I took a writing course, Tribe Writers and attempted another challenge. A book.

My first attempt seemed to go well. But then I decided to write the book that was burning within me. A memoir of sorts. And while I had experienced doubts whispering before, now they were standing on chairs screaming:

Are you nuts?

Who would want to read a book YOU write?

You still have problems, what have you got to say to a listening world?

How can we fight doubt?

Lucky for me I heard about a book that dealt with those nagging doubts.

Bryan Hutchinson’s book, Writer’s Doubts, was just the ammunition I needed to face those doubts head-on. His book helped me all the way to publication.

Hutchinson’s book assured me having doubts as a writer, or any artist is normal.

What if I waited till I had no doubts? Well, I can honestly say two books would have never been written and I’d still be getting someone to drive me everywhere.

Resistance – our enemy

I highly recommend Writer’s Doubt if you are trying to achieve a goal and finding resistance is winning.

I learned a lot reading his book.I learned that resistance is to be expected.

I discovered resistance became stronger the closer I got to my goal.

That understanding helped me. I could anticipate it, and somehow diffuse some of its power.

So what are you thinking of doing? And what’s trying to stop you?

You too, can go past those doubts.

Writer’s Doubt will help you discover:

• How to let go and tell your story.
• What your true writing potential is and how to reach it.
• How to break free from inhibitions and self-imposed limitations.
• How to overcome your internal (and external) naysayers.
• How to use your doubts and fears to your advantage.

So what do you say? Are you tired of silencing the desire within you?
Tired of watching others achieve what your heart yearns for?

Then order a copy of Writer’s Doubt and get going.

I highly recommend this book. It will help you with any resistance you may have. And it will help us too, because the world needs what you have to say. It really does.

You can visit Bryan Hutchinson’s Blog or visit his Facebook page HERE, or you can twitter him @adderworld.

 

 

9 thoughts on “A Review – Writer’s Doubt

  1. Pingback: Special Thanks to Jeff Goins, CS Lakin and KM Weiland and More Friends! | Positive Writer

  2. Enjoyed this review. I can certainly relate. I have one book, a memoir, finished and shelved. I had to get the information out of me and onto the page, but publishing is another thing entirely. Dave Pelzer understands. I am working on another. Young adult fiction. It’s coming along, but I may get Writer’s Doubt if I get stuck. Thank you for posting this review.

    Like

    • I wrote a small book, Real Love, a few years ago. Then I wrote BROKEN: A Story of Abuse and Survival.
      That book started out being a story of my sister’s murder to domestic violence and I felt God telling me I needed to tell my story as well. That book took a lot out of me.

      I find it hard promoting a memoir. Do you find it hard?

      Like

      • I do. And I know what you mean about it taking a lot out of you. Same here. It was therapeutic to write, but difficult to let the world see. Very few have been allowed to read it. I am not ready to publish.
        My mom has multiple personality disorder, or as they call it now Differentiated Identity Disorder, and is bipolar with paranoia and schizophrenia. My five siblings and I grew up in a strange world. We make jokes about our therapy. LOL God has been faithful to heal.
        I want to encourage and inspire people because that is what God and brothers and sisters in Christ have done for me.

        Like

  3. Our life was abusive. We got beat. And I personally believe that if you come from an abusive home it increases the chances that you will be in another abusive home. I have some theories on how we should really try to target those who have been physically abused so we can model for them what healthy looks like, otherwise, how would they know? My dad was a rageaholic. We’d all get it, and I just grew up thinking we must have been bad.

    Like

    • I can relate. My dad served in the Navy and was gone most of the time. Mom took all of her rage out on us. Our beatings were with an extension cord folded so that there were four strands. Sometimes she would say we were being punished on “general principle.” I have scars from broken bones and cuts. Many of my scars are not visible to others. Like you, I grew up thinking everyone’s mom was the way she was.

      I am interested in helping adults who were abused as children, but my area of expertise is with children and teens. I try to encourage those I have in my classroom, thirteen to fourteen year-olds. They MUST be made to realize it is not their fault. Professional guidelines limit what I can say and do, but I always build and uplift them.

      I am interested in your theories on how to target those in need of healing in this area, adults and/or teens.

      Like

  4. I guess mainly I think if there were a way to make a survey the whole class would take. Questions could be asked which could indicate there is abuse. Because as you know, we were not allowed to talk about it. And even if we could, who would we tell? Years later I shared with one of my aunts and she said, “I had no idea you were being beaten.”

    My dad used his belt, sometimes they used the high fly paddles that we got in our Easter baskets. We were slapped, and never knew when that would happen. One time my mom called me up to the attic and she beat me with a wire hanger. I hadn’t taken down the clothes from the lines. My brother Gus got it the worst. I was the sensitive one in the family so whenever anyone got hit, I got sick inside.

    Like

    • I understand. There are surveys done to raise awareness about drug and alcohol use in our county.They are totally anonymous. I guess one could be done to let us know of the overall child abuse stats in our area. April is Child Abuse Awareness month.

      Child abuse is a very sensitive subject. There are differing views as to what is good discipline / punishment, and what crosses the line into abuse. Also, our resource officer has said that little can be done unless there is beyond a shadow of a doubt proof. A bone has to be broken. Bruises are not enough. (Sick, huh.)

      I feel your pain. Did publishing your book help alleviate some of the emotional pain?

      Like

  5. I had shared my sister’s story for years so I didn’t think that part would affect me. Adding my story was what took a lot out of me. My book also contains my poetry in it. Raw poetry that tells it like it is. I’ve been told it has been a good blend. I think the emotional pain is healed in God’s timing. I didn’t think publishing my book would help that. What it does though is to bring something good and positive out of negatives. My book contains murder, suicide attempts, physical abuse, PTSD. It contains a lot, and none of is it fiction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

