“Call 9-1-1!” (FmF)

 Image

Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker at Five minute Friday. Prompt: Fly

“Ma’am, this is the 9-1-1 operator. Is everything alright there?”

“Yes,” I answered immediately. “I don’t understand.”

“I’m just checking on a call I received from this location.”

“Operator, you’re mistaken. I’m sitting down watching television with my two children. Nothing is wrong here.”

“I’m sorry Ma’am but about ten minutes ago we received a call from a young child around six years old who called from this number.”

I looked over at my daughter, “Jessie did you call 9-1-1?”

With her brown eyes widening she nodded her head.

“I’ll take care of this right away operator. I’m very sorry. It will never happen again.”

I marched Jessie into the bathroom and she received one swat on her bottom. Then I asked. I know wrong order. “Why would you do something like that?”

“I had to, Mom. Nathan was in the bathroom. And he started coughin’ and he said, Jess, call 9-1-1 quick. I swallowed a fly!”

I hugged my life-saving daughter and went looking for her 12 year old brother.

And years later, on his wedding day, guess what story I shared?

12 thoughts on ““Call 9-1-1!” (FmF)

    • Monica,
      Thanks for reading. The true stories often are the best. Down through the years they don’t change. And they bring so much pleasure to others. Especially if there are chuckles tucked inside.

      Like

    • Thanks for reading. I DO love the way kids think. And now I get to enjoy it all through my grandkids. That’s why when I wrote my first book each chapter starts off with a snippet about some little thing they said or did. I love children. Thanks for reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

