Even Towels

We’ve all heard how God provides our needs. Sometimes it’s the little things that speak to us the loudest.

I had decided to move out of my aunt’s house. At the time I didn’t drive so I needed a place that was relatively close to where I cashiered in Franklin Park, where no buses ran.

One day at work I decided to call a friend to ask if perhaps I could stay with her till I found my new place. It wasn’t the best situation since she lived in Chicago, but it was an idea. I called from a pay phone at work.

“Would it be possible for me to stay with you?”

“Well, we don’t have a lot of space because there are 3 of us already, but if you’d like to stay here for a while, you would be more than welcome. Just let me know what you decide.”

Getting off the phone my eye caught a handwritten note on Type to enter text the bulletin board.

Although I was thankful I could stay with my friend, I saw this ad as an opportunity worth looking into. Immediately I called the number, making an appointment to see the place after work.

 

Room for Rent 

for working girl or gentleman

must have good references.

 

Walking into that lovely home I was led a beautiful staircase to a furnished room. My eyes caught the little bedside table where I pictured a pink telephone I had always wanted to have.

Mrs. Shannon liked me and the place was mine. She showed me around her home which was so warm and inviting. Introducing me to Mr. Shannon and to Elsie, another tenant, I knew I would feel at home.

Relieved to have a place, I went home, packed my belongings and called a friend to help me with my move. On the way, I stopped at the store to pick up some needed items. After unpacking I sighed. I just wanted to shower and then relax. Then it hit me, I couldn’t shower. I had no towels.

Looking up I immediately said, “Why didn’t you remind me to get towels when I was shopping, Lord?”

My relationship with God is a personal one. I talked to him all the time, no matter where I am. Alone with my thoughts I was about to lay down for a moment when I heard a soft rap on the door.

“Come in,” I responded.

“I almost forgot,” Mrs. Shannon said, “these are for you.”

In her arms lay a stack of freshly laundered towels.

“And when you’re finished with them, just toss them in the hamper and I’ll take care of them.”

“Thank you,” I said taking the towels.

“Mrs. Shannon, I was just curious, how long has this room been available?”

“Oh,” she said smiling, “I had just put that note up about 20 minutes before you called.”

After the door closed, I lay down on my Chenille bedspread looking up.

“Sorry, Lord.”

God had looked out for me. He found me this wonderful place where I would feel safe and cared for. A place close enough to my job I could walk there every day. God knew every need I had, even for towels.

“Thanks God,” I whispered. “Thanks so much.”

Leave a Reply

