script writing

Okay, I admit it. I’m a script writer. No, not a paid one. In fact, no one knows I write scripts for them, till now.

I found that when someone is telling me something I am only partly engaged. The other part of me is busy dissecting what they are saying. And if it lines up with what I think I accept it, If not, I do a rewrite.

I’m told I’m not the only script writer around, maybe you’re one too.

But while it does help to know I am not the only one, it still doesn’t justify my doing it. So, I am on a mission to write less scripts and take more time working on being a better listener. 

Why this sudden disdain for my script writing? Well this is what I’ve come to find:

1) Writing scripts is not fair to the people in my life. I’m taking their rights away. In fact, sometimes they are not even necessary since I do both parts.

2) Writing scripts is a control issue. There, I’ve said it. To be honest, someone else pointed that out to me. And it was a script I didn’t change.

3) We can stop writing scripts for others. It may be difficult at first and what we can do is start questioning the scripts we are writing. The truth is I don’t come out looking very well in my scripts; I’m never the heroine.

I’m glad I don’t have to be a lifetime script writer. Even God doesn’t write our scripts, he lets us do that.

I may still write a few lines here or there, but for the most part, I think I’ll stick to writing poems, and ending movies the way I want. 

Leave a Reply

