presumptious

I just read a devotion by Charles Swindoll. He was talking about young David who God chose to become king. Swindoll stated that David wasn’t presumptuous. And it hit me, I’m presumptuous. 

Otherwise why would I get frustrated when things don’t go a certain way? It’s because I presume to know which way they should go. I presume to know how God works, HOW God should work, and also WHEN He should work.

Scripture tells us in Isaiah 55:8-9 that His ways are not my ways, they are higher than my ways, but I deliberately ignore that, thinking I have God figured out. God continuously allows circumstances in my life that illustrate I DON’T know what He’s doing, but still there is this arrogance inside me, this need to feel I know what God is going to do.

There are some things of which I’m certain. I know God loves me ( John 15:13). God has counted the hairs on my head (Matthew 10:30), He knit me together in my mother’s womb (Psalm 139:13), He has my name written on the palm of His hand (Isaiah 49:16). I know He loves me because He says so over and over again.

But, that doesn’t mean I know how He works. When Jesus healed people he used different methods. Maybe so people wouldn’t trust the methods, but instead trust Him.

Anytime I show impatience at God’s timing, envy at others who receive what I am waiting for, I am being presumptuous. 

I hate it when people have a sense of entitlement. And yet, when I presume God is going to work a certain way, isn’t there a sense of entitlement at work in me? Sadly, I have to say, yes.

I need to believe the promises God gives His children. And the rest? I need to leave it up to Him. To work the way He wants to work without breathing down His neck. 

The other day I fell asleep and had this dream. I dreamt God was walking around in a suit. I did not see his face but I knew it was God. We worked in an office and he came over to me and said, 

“I don’t have anything to do, everyone keeps taking my work off my desk.”

And of all the desks in that office, He stood at mine? Well, one by one I handed him the things I had taken from Him. The things I had worried about, till His hand had this huge pile, and He walked away.

Presumptuous. I don’t want to be presumptuous, I want to stand in awe.

Leave a Reply

