connections

Two nights ago I sat looking at the words we all hate in this technological age,

YOU ARE NOT CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET

Frantically I did what any technical deficient person would do. I called my daughter. She looked at wires and connections checking each one with diligence to no avail. We were still disconnected.

I couldn’t google information, I couldn’t get support from Comcast, I just sat there staring at the screen in disbelief.

In moments we were also disconnected from our land line. That bothered me even more. Thankful to have the cell phone we made a call, which was busy and kept trying things. Nothing worked.

Actually, the only thing I remember that made sense was when my daughter stated, “Maybe God doesn’t want us on the internet tonight.”

I’d like to tell you that all I needed was that statement, but being the determined aka stubborn person I am I stayed with it. For a while.

I remember going to be irritated thinking I would just have to put it at the top of my list for things to do the next morning.

When I awoke we were once again connected. While this was good news on the technological front, and meant I would not have to spend time checking things out with someone on the phone, I saw it as a real eye opener.

When I have days where I don’t feel connected to God I don’t react with the same concern I displayed when we were disconnected from the internet.

How sad is that?

I can go days without that close spiritual connection and you don’t see me scrutinizing that. You don’t see me calling for help. On the contrary, I just go and find something else to put in God’s place.

How about if there is a disconnection with another person? Is that something that will get me troubleshooting? Maybe, maybe not.

I love having the capabilities the internet gives me. There are a lot of good things I can learn on there. I love being able to communicate in a matter of seconds with others, and I love, love, LOVE being able to share prayer requests, and being able to pray for others based on their posts.

I just have to have the right perspective.

We won’t get a message that tells us,

YOU ARE NOT CONNECTED TO GOD

And yet, we know when we feel distance, or when our prayers seem to go as high as the ceiling and that’s it.

The wonderful thing about our relationship with God is this, He is ever present. If we are feeling distance, we have moved.

He is the power source for our connection with him, and that will never run out.

The last thing that makes me thankful about my relationship with God is that all it takes when I feel distant is looking at him again. As many times as the Israelites grumbled and complained. God was ever-patient. He would respond every time they called. 

God will do the same for us. He will never get tired of us. He’s longsuffering.

We make one decision, trusting God for salvation and God connects us to himself. Now that’s a strong connection.

Leave a Reply

