being stung

I remember it clearly. Nathan was just about 3 years old when he came running to me. He had been stung by a bee. After comforting him I asked him how it happened and he replied,

“I was just trying to pet it.”

Sometimes we get stung in our day-to-day. People hurt people. They don’t always mean to, but invariably some words slip out that cause pain.

I just finished reading a blog by a Proverbs 31 writer. She talked about dealing with harsh critics. Sometimes we are the ones who let harsh words escape our lips. And at times, it isn’t even what we say, but instead how we say it.

And the people who are closest to us sometimes feel the brunt more than anyone. Perhaps because they see us without our masks.

When Jesus was on the cross he prayed, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.”

Sometimes when I’m hurt I feel like the hurt was intentional. I could turn the table around and ask myself the question, “Do I intend to hurt others?”

Hmmm. It’s easier to excuse myself than someone else.

I want to be gentle which is one of the fruit of the spirit. The opposite is being judgmental, harsh. 

As we continue in our walk knowing the Lord, I believe he is transforming us to the image of Jesus. This is a process, not something that happens overnight. I accepted the Lord September 12, 1971. Since that time God is working on me to change me. 

Those that know me know I’m not there yet. But, I have to say there are areas where I see growth. I’m taking a little more time in thinking of responses I make to others. 

I am trying to see other sides instead of only mine. (Trust me, this one was hard).

I want to be kind, considerate and gentle. I want my words to build up and not tear down. 

So, today I’m praying God makes me aware of each and every word that escapes my lips. Instead, I want to consciously choose my words carefully. 

And I don’t want to use empty words either. Words that are fillers.

Like,  ”How are you?”  ”Fine,”

I want every word to count … don’t you?

Leave a Reply

