GPS

One of the things I like about the GPS is that it doesn’t force me to do things. I still have my own choices to make. And if I choose to disregard the suggested route it will actually decide on an alternate route. Can I confess something? Sometimes it’s fun for me to purposely disregard the GPS. Maybe I’m trying to see if I can make it mad, but so far so good.

I’m really directionally challenged. Have always been that way, and it’s just something I accept about myself. I just allow more time, and watch what I tell myself when I am tempted to panic.

It helps to have the GPS. But, I still have to choose whether or not to follow the suggestions.

We have choices as far as God’s leading too.

I can choose to go the opposite of what he suggests. I can know what he would want me to do in a given situation, ie, be forgiving, be loving, not retaliate, and I can choose to pay back, to hold against, to strike out.

God is full of mercy. He is the God of 2nd and 3rd, and even 10th chances. I see this when I read about the Israelites in the wilderness. I know I wouldn’t have had the mercy for them that God displayed. I would have tired with all the grumbling. 

And yet, when it comes to me, I want God to be merciful. I want God to overlook my faults. 

I guess it’s a matter of letting God conform me with the situations in life, letting God use difficult people to sand down imperfections in me.

God sure is kind. He could have just zapped the Israelites. He could just crush me when I choose my own way over his, but he doesn’t.

He must really love us. 

Leave a Reply

