if only

Truly these two words can really paralyze us in life. Regrets are like leaches that grab on and suck the very life out of you. We make decisions based on the information we have at the time. We are human and sometimes we make decisions that are lacking. We are human and sometimes we make mistakes. This is something I am finally giving myself permission to do. To look back and wonder what would have happened “if only” is non-productive. It is something that takes our energy instead of giving us energy. I’m so glad God put Romans 8:28 in my Bible. “And we know that God will work all things together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose.”

“all things.” I’m so glad about that. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I should go around making poor decisions just so God can work them together for good, but I am thankful that God knows us so well, He knew we would need Him to step in. 

I’m also glad that in Job it talks about how no plan of God’s can be thwarted. That gives me assurance that even I can’t mess up what He’s determined will be. 

God really knows us intimately, and loves us completely. Every time you start thinking, “if only,” stop. And instead thank Him that He has no limits, none at all.

Leave a Reply

