Waiting

Nobody likes to wait. Not really. I remember one day when I learned an important lesson about waiting. Impatience is directly linked with pride. I know that is kind of harsh, but let me elaborate and then you can decide if you agree. When we struggle with impatience it’s because we are telling ourselves we shouldn’t have to wait. I remember one day in particular this was painfully illustrated for me.

While in Wal-Mart I needed to pick up some items on a busy day. Seeing an empty register I proceeded quickly with my less than 10 items. Then, out of the corner of my eye I saw another customer who was eyeing MY check-out lane. Quickly I got into gear and within seconds I was there! Proudly, I unloaded my cart and glanced at the person in second place. My victory seemed less sweet. I had managed to beat someone who was in one of those riding carts.

And if that wasn’t bad enough, I felt I had to share it with the class I was about to lead. It was then I felt God tapping me on the shoulder about my inability to wait well. I used to be one tapping my feet in line at the grocery store. Or I would raise my eyebrows while I changed lanes to what I guessed would be a faster salesclerk. Inside I felt I shouldn’t have to wait. God showed me otherwise. The races to the check out lane have ended. Now I see waiting times as challenges. I allow myself time to catch my breath, to notice my surroundings. Maybe to even send up a quick prayer for a mother with an impatient child. Waiting has gotten easier, and I think everyone at Wal-Mart is starting to feel a little safer.

Leave a Reply

